The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Rotorua District Council

Council mapTaurange City Western Bay of Plenty District Kawerau District Whakatane District Opotiki District Rotorua District Taupo District Hawkes Bay Region Gisborne Region Waikato Region

Phone: (07) 348 4199
Web site:

Mayor: Steve Chadwick
Councillors in 2016: 10 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2015: 515

Key financial statistics 2015

$ (in thousands)Rotorua DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 978,750 1,255,042 109,655,413
Operating Revenue 98,517 69,269 8,362,314
Operating Expenditure 109,578 78,159 8,944,023
Capital Expenditure 18,373 32,152 4,051,699
Rates Revenue 69,769 49,222 5,003,056

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 65,280
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 65,901
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-0.9%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 2,409
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)27.1
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 26,900

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Rotorua District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon