The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Waitomo District Council

Council mapRotorua District Rotorua District South Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Taupo District Waikato District Matamata-Piako District Hauraki District Waitomo District Thames-Coromandel District Hawkes Bay Region Manawatu-Wanganui Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Auckland Region

Phone: (07) 878 0800
Web site:

Mayor: Brian Hanna
Councillors in 2016: 6 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 68

Key financial statistics 2016

$ (in thousands)Waitomo DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 290,747 379,010 112,859,570
Operating Revenue 25,977 20,764 8,865,430
Operating Expenditure 24,934 22,976 9,282,110
Capital Expenditure 9,810 8,567 4,264,961
Rates Revenue 17,772 13,786 5,317,234

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 8,907
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 9,438
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-5.6%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 3,535
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)2.5
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 25,700

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Waitomo District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon