The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Otorohanga District Council

Council mapRotorua District Rotorua District South Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Taupo District Waikato District Matamata-Piako District Hauraki District Waitomo District Thames-Coromandel District Hawkes Bay Region Manawatu-Wanganui Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Auckland Region

Phone: (07) 873 4000
Web site:

Mayor: Max Baxter
Councillors in 2016: 7 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 45

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Otorohanga DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 293,478 381,497 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 15,959 21,407 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 16,360 23,102 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 5,121 8,900 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 11,300 14,225 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 9,138
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 9,078
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)0.7%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 1,999
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)4.6
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 29,100

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Otorohanga District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon