The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Opotiki District Council

Council mapTaurange City Western Bay of Plenty District Kawerau District Whakatane District Opotiki District Rotorua District Taupo District Hawkes Bay Region Gisborne Region Waikato Region

Phone: (07) 315 3030
Web site:

Mayor: John Forbes
Councillors in 2016: 6 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 57

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Opotiki DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 184,720 381,497 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 14,501 21,407 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 14,043 23,102 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 5,597 8,900 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 10,682 14,225 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 8,436
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 8,973
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-6.0%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 3,089
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)2.7
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 20,700

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Opotiki District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon