The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


South Waikato District Council

Council mapRotorua District Rotorua District South Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Taupo District Waikato District Matamata-Piako District Hauraki District Waitomo District Thames-Coromandel District Hawkes Bay Region Manawatu-Wanganui Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Auckland Region

Phone: (07) 885 0340
Web site:

Mayor: Jenny Shattock
Councillors in 2016: 10 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 124

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)South Waikato DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 412,924 381,497 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 32,117 21,407 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 31,822 23,102 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 7,341 8,900 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 24,392 14,225 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 22,071
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 22,644
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-2.5%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 1,819
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)12.1
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 23,800

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the South Waikato District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon