The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Hurunui District Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 314 8816
Web site:

Mayor: Winton Dalley
Councillors in 2016: 9 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 158

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Hurunui DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 399,692 381,497 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 62,327 21,407 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 61,349 23,102 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 14,364 8,900 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 16,701 14,225 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 11,529
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 10,476
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)10.1%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 8,641
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)1.3
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 28,600

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Hurunui District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon