The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Waitaki District Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 433 0300
Web site:

Mayor: Gary Kircher
Councillors in 2016: 10 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 139

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Waitaki DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 762,169 1,386,293 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 42,054 77,930 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 45,729 80,915 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 16,581 38,342 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 30,046 53,650 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 20,826
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 20,223
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)3.0%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 7,109
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)2.9
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 25,300

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Waitaki District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon