The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Christchurch City Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 941 8999
Web site:

Mayor: Lianne Dalziel
Councillors in 2016: 16 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2015: 1,938

Key financial statistics 2015

$ (in thousands)Christchurch CityMedian for all METRO councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 9,303,862 2,709,755 109,655,413
Operating Revenue 613,525 181,689 8,362,314
Operating Expenditure 753,496 176,198 8,944,023
Capital Expenditure 624,090 49,695 4,051,699
Rates Revenue 358,204 116,627 5,003,056

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 341,472
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 348,459
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-2.0%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 1,415
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)241.3
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 29,800

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about Christchurch City on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
CCC logo 4col.jpg