The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Canterbury Regional Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 353 9007
Web site:

Chair: Dame Margaret Bazley
Commissioners in 2013: 13 (excluding Chair)
Council employees in 2015: 533

Key financial statistics 2014

$ (in thousands)Canterbury RegionalMedian for all REGIONAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 953,930 441,351 119,448,518
Operating Revenue 154,137 38,721 8,047,204
Operating Expenditure 145,712 41,269 8,390,767
Capital Expenditure 20,120 6,152 3,939,748
Rates Revenue 83,948 18,343 4,766,861

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 539,433
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 521,832
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)3.4%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 44,508
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)12.1
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 30,100

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Canterbury Region on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon