The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Ashburton District Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 307 7700
Web site:

Mayor: Donna Favel
Councillors in 2016: 12 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 184

Key financial statistics 2016

$ (in thousands)Ashburton DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 686,578 1,279,498 112,859,570
Operating Revenue 51,732 75,330 8,865,430
Operating Expenditure 53,930 79,071 9,282,110
Capital Expenditure 21,581 29,902 4,264,961
Rates Revenue 30,595 54,069 5,317,234

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 31,041
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 27,372
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)13.4%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 6,183
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)5.0
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 32,900

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Ashburton District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon