The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


South Wairarapa District Council

Council mapCarterton District South Wairarapa District Tararua District Masterton District Upper Hutt City Hutt City Porirua City Kapiti Coast District Wellington City Manawatu-Wanganui Region

Phone: (06) 306 9611
Web site:

Mayor: Viv Napier
Councillors in 2016: 9 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 47

Key financial statistics 2016

$ (in thousands)South Wairarapa DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 383,709 379,010 112,859,570
Operating Revenue 17,144 20,764 8,865,430
Operating Expenditure 17,739 22,976 9,282,110
Capital Expenditure 8,007 8,567 4,264,961
Rates Revenue 12,448 13,786 5,317,234

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 9,525
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 8,889
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)7.2%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 2,387
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)4.0
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 28,900

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the South Wairarapa District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
SWDC logo large 30pc.jpg