The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Ruapehu District Council

Council mapHawkes Bay Region Taupo District Stratford District Ruapehu District Tararua District Palmerston North City Horowhenua District Manawatu District Rangitikei District Whanganui District Wellington Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Waikato Region

Phone: (07) 895 8188
Web site:

Mayor: Don Cameron
Councillors in 2016: 11 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2015: 55

Key financial statistics 2015

$ (in thousands)Ruapehu DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 354,037 364,855 109,655,413
Operating Revenue 27,636 22,361 8,362,314
Operating Expenditure 29,828 23,626 8,944,023
Capital Expenditure 9,579 7,902 4,051,699
Rates Revenue 20,211 13,733 5,003,056

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 11,844
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 13,572
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-12.7%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 6,734
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)1.8
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 24,100

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Ruapehu District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
RDC Logo RGB 208kb.jpg