The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council

Council mapHawkes Bay Region Taupo District Stratford District Ruapehu District Tararua District Palmerston North City Horowhenua District Manawatu District Rangitikei District Whanganui District Wellington Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Waikato Region

Phone: (06) 952 2800
Web site:

Chair: Bruce Gordon
Councillors in 2013: 11 (excluding Chair)
Council employees in 2015: 213

Key financial statistics 2014

$ (in thousands)Manawatu-Wanganui RegionalMedian for all REGIONAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 421,048 441,351 119,448,518
Operating Revenue 52,751 38,721 8,047,204
Operating Expenditure 46,273 41,269 8,390,767
Capital Expenditure 15,793 6,152 3,939,748
Rates Revenue 36,701 18,343 4,766,861

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 222,669
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 222,423
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)0.1%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 22,220
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)10.0
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 25,000

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Manawatu-Wanganui Region on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon