The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Taupo District Council

Council mapRotorua District Rotorua District South Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Taupo District Waikato District Matamata-Piako District Hauraki District Waitomo District Thames-Coromandel District Hawkes Bay Region Manawatu-Wanganui Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Auckland Region

Phone: (07) 376 0899
Web site:

Mayor: David Trewavas
Councillors in 2016: 10 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 292

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Taupo DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 1,059,477 1,386,293 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 80,361 77,930 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 80,915 80,915 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 42,228 38,342 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 60,929 53,650 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 32,907
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 32,418
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)1.5%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 6,334
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)5.2
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 28,200

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Taupo District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon