The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Selwyn District Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 347 2800
Web site:

Mayor: Sam Broughton
Councillors in 2016: 11 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 280

Key financial statistics 2018

$ (in thousands)Selwyn DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 1,548,140 1,435,460 123,568,227
Operating Revenue 83,769 80,473 9,879,372
Operating Expenditure 100,708 86,697 10,292,961
Capital Expenditure 76,033 42,682 4,887,998
Rates Revenue 49,700 55,974 5,815,327

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 44,595
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 33,642
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)32.6%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 6,381
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)7.0
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 36,100

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Selwyn District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
Blue logo 400px.jpg