The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Manawatu District Council

Council mapHawkes Bay Region Taupo District Stratford District Ruapehu District Tararua District Palmerston North City Horowhenua District Manawatu District Rangitikei District Whanganui District Wellington Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Waikato Region

Phone: (06) 323 0000
Web site:

Mayor: Helen Worboys
Councillors in 2016: 10 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 162

Key financial statistics 2018

$ (in thousands)Manawatu DistrictMedian for all PROVINCIAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 613,497 1,435,460 123,568,227
Operating Revenue 46,907 80,473 9,879,372
Operating Expenditure 52,853 86,697 10,292,961
Capital Expenditure 23,975 42,682 4,887,998
Rates Revenue 33,214 55,974 5,815,327

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 27,456
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 26,070
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)5.3%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 2,567
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)10.7
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 28,400

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Manawatu District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
MDC logo PNG 20pc.png