The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Kaikoura District Council

Council mapOtago Region Kaikoura District Hurunui District Mackenzie District Waimate District Waitaki District Timaru District Ashburton District Selwyn _District Waimakariri District Christchurch City West Coast Region Tasman Region Marlborough Region

Phone: (03) 319 5026
Web site:

Mayor: Winston Gray
Councillors in 2016: 7 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2017: 34

Key financial statistics 2018

$ (in thousands)Kaikoura DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 161,323 385,888 123,568,227
Operating Revenue 14,227 21,273 9,879,372
Operating Expenditure 14,743 25,799 10,292,961
Capital Expenditure 6,530 10,008 4,887,998
Rates Revenue 6,209 14,652 5,815,327

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 3,552
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 3,621
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-1.9%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 2,047
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)1.7
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 26,400

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Kaikoura District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon