The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Hauraki District Council

Council mapRotorua District Rotorua District South Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Taupo District Waikato District Matamata-Piako District Hauraki District Waitomo District Thames-Coromandel District Hawkes Bay Region Manawatu-Wanganui Region Bay of Plenty Region Taranaki Region Auckland Region

Phone: (07) 862 8609
Web site:

Mayor: John Tregidga
Councillors in 2016: 12 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 139

Key financial statistics 2018

$ (in thousands)Hauraki DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 522,340 385,888 123,568,227
Operating Revenue 36,386 21,273 9,879,372
Operating Expenditure 38,728 25,799 10,292,961
Capital Expenditure 11,178 10,008 4,887,998
Rates Revenue 29,091 14,652 5,815,327

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 17,811
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 17,859
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-0.3%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 1,270
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)14.0
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 23,100

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Hauraki District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon