The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Local government arrangements in Auckland

On 1 November 2010 the newly elected mayor, councillors and board members of the Auckland Council took office. This new council was formed through the amalgamation of one regional and seven city and district councils, in response to the Royal Commission on Auckland Governance. The Commission recommended reorganisation in order to maximise the current and future wellbeing of the region and its contribution to national prosperity.

The changes:

  • formed one Auckland Council to assume all local government responsibilities in the Auckland region, amalgamating the 8 current councils
  • established a governing body of 1 mayor (elected at large) and 20 councilors (elected from wards)
  • provided an integrated approach to planning, including a single long-term council community plan, for Auckland
  • created 21 local boards, responsible for decision-making on non-regulatory functions that do not require an Auckland-wide approach. The local boards identify and communicate the interests and preferences of people in the local board area (through the proposal of by-laws), and develop a local board plan for local activities.

Monitoring and evaluating the Auckland governance reforms

The following two reports provide a framework for the Department of Internal Affairs and other stakeholders to undertake ongoing evaluation and monitoring of the Auckland governance reform process and its outcomes. They were developed by the Department of Internal Affairs and Martin, Jenkins and Associates in 2010.

Auckland Evaluation Framework (1.05mb).

Draft Auckland Monitoring Framework (572kb).

Further information and links

Auckland Council
This website is the online home for the new Auckland Council and will help you understand how the change to a single council affects you. It also contains detailed information on the 2010 local body elections.

Determinations on Auckland City Wards, Local Boards and Boundaries
This contains the Local Government Commission's determination of wards, local boards and boundaries for the new Auckland Council.

Making Auckland Greater
This contains information about government proposals and decisions for Auckland's governance. It explains key topics and provides answers to frequently asked questions.

Auckland Transition Agency
The Auckland Transition Agency (ATA) was responsible for the amalgamation of the 8 current councils in the Auckland region into the Auckland Council in time for the local authority elections held on 9 October 2010.

Government Decisions in Response to the Royal Commission on Auckland Governance
This page on the Department of Internal Affairs website contains cabinet papers, minutes and briefings on the Government's decisions in response to the Royal Commission on Auckland Governance.

Royal Commission on Auckland Governance
This page provides information about the Commissioners' investigations and recommendations on the local and regional government arrangements for the Auckland region, including the full report of the Royal Commission.

Legislative information

Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009

Cabinet papers relating to the Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 - Department of Internal Affairs website

Local Government (Tamaki Makaurau Reorganisation) Act 2009