The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Kawerau District Council

Council mapTaurange City Western Bay of Plenty District Kawerau District Whakatane District Opotiki District Rotorua District Taupo District Hawkes Bay Region Gisborne Region Waikato Region

Phone: (07) 306 9009
Web site:

Mayor: Malcolm Campbell
Councillors in 2016: 8 (excluding Mayor)
Council employees in 2018: 60

Key financial statistics 2017

$ (in thousands)Kawerau DistrictMedian for all RURAL councilsNew Zealand
Public Equity 68,566 381,497 118,835,141
Operating Revenue 11,267 21,407 9,412,132
Operating Expenditure 12,361 23,102 9,851,504
Capital Expenditure 3,221 8,900 4,310,621
Rates Revenue 9,153 14,225 5,531,730

Source: Local Authority Financial Statistics, Statistics New Zealand

The financial profile pages for this council contains more detailed information.

The Council's current long-term plan and annual report may be available from its website:

Community statistics as at the 2013 census

Usually resident population - 2013 Census 6,363
Usually resident population - 2006 Census 6,921
Change from 2006 to 2013 (All NZ: 5.3%)-8.1%
Land Area km2 (not incl. inland waters or oceanic areas) - 2014 24
People per km2 (All NZ: 15.9)269.3
Median personal income - 2013 Census (All NZ: $28,500) 18,800

Census, Statistics New Zealand

View more QuickStats about the Kawerau District on the Statistics New Zealand website.

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon